ORCID Governance

The Australian ORCID Consortium Governance Committee:

The ORCID Consortium Governance Committee will act as the key vehicle in guiding the decision making of the Consortium in order for it to operate effectively and sustainably into the future.

ORCID Governance Committee: Terms of Reference

Member Organisation
Prof Joe Shapter ORCID Governance Committee Independent Chair
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Infrastructure) UQ
Simon Huggard Chair of Australian ORCID Advisory Group
Linda O’Brien ORCID Org International Board member
Elleina Filippi (nominee) Chair of the AAF Board of the Consortium Lead or nominee
Jill Benn Chair of the CAUL, or nominee
Dr Ross McLennan Chair of ARMS, or nominee
Prof Susan Dodds Chair of Universities Australia Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Research Committee, or nominee
Tony Krizan A representative from the NHMRC, nominated by the CEO
Kylie Emery A representative from the ARC, nominated by the CEO

The Australian ORCID Advisory Group

The Australian ORCID Advisory Group will act in the interests of the nation to provide expertise and advice on leveraging maximum benefits through national adoption and use of ORCID.

Advisory Group: Terms of Reference

Member Organisation
Simon Huggard Advisory Group – Chair, Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)
Natasha Simons Advisory Group – Deputy Chair, Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC)
Dr Liz Eedle Universities Australia (UA)
Sian Wright Australasian Research Management Society (ARMS)
Wee-Ming Boon National Health & Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Justin Withers Australian Research Council (ARC)
Cynthia Love CSIRO
Jenny Beresford Council of Australasian University Directors of Information Technology (CAUDIT)
David Abramson The University of Queensland (UQ)
Linda O’Brien Invited guest: ORCID Board of Directors ( Int. rep)
Heath Marks Australian Access Federation (AAF)
Elleina Filippi Australian Access Federation (AAF)
Melroy Almeida Secretariat support, Australian Access Federation (AAF)

Vision 2020


Our aspiration is that, by 2020:

  • All active researchers in Australia have an ORCID identifier
  • All Australian researchers actively use their ORCID ID throughout the research lifecycle
  • ORCID is seen as the best way in which to identify international research experts
  • The ARC/NHMRC will integrate ORCID with their grant management systems
  • Government agencies draw upon ORCID data, where possible, for institutional research performance reporting and assessment
  • The Australian ORCID Consortium is a thriving, sustainable and valued organisation which has steadily grown its membership base.